Thursday, May 10, 2018 -
10:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, May 11, 2018 -
10:00am to 6:00pm
Saturday, May 12, 2018 -
10:00am to 6:00pm
Sunday, May 13, 2018 -
10:00am to 6:00pm

Tickets & Registration


Southern Sonic is a new festival of sound art and experimental music. In this inaugural festival year, the CAC welcomes musicians, composers, sound installation artists, circuit builders, engineers, audio professionals and enthusiasts.

Southern Sonic will be a week-long convening of music, visual art, and sound making to be held at the CAC. The festival seeks to present artists who operate in the idioms of experimental music and sound art and installation, but the very definitions of what might be cast as “experimental” are entirely up for grabs. The goal is to create a space where musicians and audiences can share interlaced etudes played as a rhizome on a rhinestone or a circuit-bent cell phone.

The curators (Andrea Anderson, Courtney Bryan, Jebney Lewis, Aurora Nealand, Mariana Sheppard, and Rick Snow) seek new aural experiences that explode and recombine musical genres or even seek to redefine the goals of music and sound art. The City of New Orleans is internationally recognized as a center for American musical heritage and preservation. Festivals such as Jazz Fest, Satchmo Summer Fest, and French Quarter Fest celebrate the city’s historical associations with the development of Jazz, Funk, Ragtime, Blues, and early Rock and Roll.

Southern Sonic wishes to continue to honor and explore music- and art-making in New Orleans and the South, but from a distinctly different point of departure. Southern Sonic will support the work of artists and practitioners using forms, technologies, tonalities, and resources extant in the South today that are inspired by a similar spirit.

Artists, musicians, and practitioners include Courtney Bryan, Jane Cassidy, Holland Hopson, and Tim Feeney, Andrew Raffo Dewar, Yotam Haber and Anna Schuleit Haber, Jebney Lewis and Steve Parker, Aurora Nealand, Rick Snow, Charm Taylor, and Versipel New Music Collective.


Share This